---
sourceDocument: Zurich ServiceNow AI Platform Capabilities
sourceDocumentLink: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/zurich/servicenow-platform

 Release :

    - zurich

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Zurich ServiceNow AI Platform Capabilities

ft:clusterId :

    - platcap

bundleId :

    - platcap

workflow :

    - Platform


---

# Disable the article versioning feature

# Disable the article versioning feature {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Zurich
* 
* Updated July 31, 2025
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

Users with the system administrator role can disable the article versioning feature
by setting a property.

## Before you begin

Role required: admin

## About this task

The Enable article versioning feature(glide.knowman.versioning.enabled) property controls the article versioning feature. Setting this property to false disables the article versioning feature. Once disabled:

* The Version field is removed from the Knowledge form. The Version column remains on the Knowledge list and can be removed manually.
* The Article Versions related list is removed from the Knowledge form.
* The Recall, Checkout, and Make this current buttons are removed from the Knowledge form.
* Outdated articles are removed from Knowledge list views.
* The version history does not appear on the article view page.
{#article-versioning-disable-property__ul_mvw_dzx_yy}

Articles continue to be versioned in the background. Minor versions are incremented
until an article is published and then the version number is increased to the next
major version.

Users can still access outdated articles that have been attached to incidents.
Outdated articles include a message that an updated article is available.

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllKnowledgeAdministrationProperties.
2. Locate the Enable article versioning feature property in the Article Versioning Properties section.
3. Click the check box to disable the property.
4. Click Save.

*[\>]: and then


