---
sourceDocument: Brazil Mobile Configuration and Navigation
sourceDocumentLink: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/mobile

 Release :

    - brazil

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Brazil Mobile Configuration and Navigation

ft:clusterId :

    - mobile

bundleId :

    - mobile

workflow :

    - Development, Data and Analytics


---

# General guidelines

# General Guidelines for multiple users using a shared device {#ariaid-title1}

Release version: Brazil  
Updated September 10, 2026  
![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 2 minutes to read  
When configuring the setup for multiple users using a shared device, keep these general guidelines in mind for usability and a good user experience.

Single account requirement
:   This feature only works on a single account. If there is more than one account on the device, the user must remove all other accounts they are not working with from the device.

Assigning shared device enabler mode
:   The mobile_shared_device_mode_enabler role is available from the base system, however, it must be applied to selected users who can turn a device into a shared device.

Enabling the shared device option
:   The Device sharing option in the Settings screen only displays if you add the mobile property SupportSharedDevice and set it to True. In addition, the user
    must be allocated the mobile_shared_device_mode_enabler role.

Pre-loginand device sharing compatibility
:   The shared device and pre-login (branded landing page) features are designed for different personas and cannot work in parallel. If the pre-login feature is configured, the device sharing option is hidden. For more
    information, see [Branded landing page for a single instance](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/VDJGXQdL_HL54PJo1MDP0Q "A branded landing page is a public web page displayed to users before they log in to their  ServiceNow mobile app. This pre-login page contains a login button in the header or a deep link that navigates users to a specified area of a  ServiceNow mobile app, bypassing the need to select an instance. The login button can be in the header of the mobile app, an integral part of the web page or both. The login button can either be in the header of the mobile app or an integral part of the web page.").

    If the pre-login feature is configured on an instance after a device is already in shared mode, existing shared devices are not impacted. However, any new devices connecting to that
    instance cannot be used in shared mode.

Syncing property changes to shared devices
:   The changes to following properties PINIdleTimeout, SupportSharedDevice, and MaxUsersPerSharedDevice  on the server are updated on the device account when one of
    the following actions occur:

    * An active user entered their PIN.
    * An inactive user on the device logs back in.
    * A new user is added.
    * A pull-to-refresh has taken place while a user is logged in.
    {#multiuser-general-guidelines__ul_cqw_krg_cjc}

Push notifications
:   Push notifications are disabled by default in shared device mode. When enabling push notifications on a shared device, be aware that other users on the device may be able to see each others notifications. Depending on the
    context of use, this could raise privacy or security concerns.

Updating push notification properties
:   The property EnablePushNotificationinSharedDeviceMode on an instance is updated on the device account when one of the following actions occur:

    * The app is restarted with an active user who has a valid login session.
    * An inactive user on the device logs back in.
    * A new user is added.
    {#multiuser-general-guidelines__ul_szh_2rg_cjc}

Deep linking
:   Deep links that navigate the user to another account do not work, as you can only use a single account on a shared device. If the user taps such a link to be navigated to another account, they receive a message stating that
    the link cannot be opened on a shared device.

MAM app configuration
:   Changes to either the SNDefaultInstanceURL or SNDefaultInstanceName properties in the MAM app configuration will not take effect once the application is converted to shared device
    mode. For more information, see [AppConfig for Mobile Apps](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/q4LtzK4L8pqhH2z4idQntQ "Use AppConfig to define a default instance and browser for your managed mobile apps.").  
    Note:  
    When using MAM/MDM with the multi-user feature, only the policies of the user who first authenticates into MAM/MDM are applied, even after the app is converted to shared mode.

SSO and shared devices
:   When using SSO login with a shared device, you must set the SingleLogoutRequest service URL. For more information, see [Set the SingleLogoutRequest service URL](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/access?context=t_SetTheSingleLogoutRequestSvcURL&version=brazil&pubname=brazil-platform-security&ft:locale=en-US).

Reverting to non-shared mode
:   To revert an app that is in shared mode back to non-shared mode, you must uninstall and reinstall the app.

Unavailable features in shared mode
:   The following features are not available in shared mode:

    * Mobile impersonation
    * Biometric login
    * Location tracking
    * The ability to work in offline mode
    {#multiuser-general-guidelines__ul_gy3_lqg_cjc}

