---
sourceDocument: Australia ServiceNow AI Platform Capabilities
sourceDocumentLink: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/servicenow-platform

 Release :

    - australia

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Australia ServiceNow AI Platform Capabilities

ft:clusterId :

    - platcap

bundleId :

    - platcap

workflow :

    - Platform


---

# Retire a knowledge block

# Retire a knowledge block {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Australia
* 
* Updated March 12, 2026
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

You can retire a published knowledge block so that it's no longer available for users to view or search.

## Before you begin

Role required: user must have contributor access to the knowledge base.

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllKnowledgeKnowledge BlocksPublished.
2. Open the applicable record.
3. Select Retire to retire the knowledge block.  
   Note:  
   * Starting from the Australia release, you can retire the knowledge block attached to an article by setting the (glide.knowman.allow_retire_block) system property to true.
   * Any additional steps required to retire the knowledge block, such as approvals, depend on the workflow for the knowledge base. See [Knowledge workflows](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/T3VRJa20Cbq57Fw0XiLaTQ#r_KnowledgeWorkflows "The publishing and retirement processes for a knowledge article are controlled by workflows defined for the knowledge base that the article belongs to.") for more information.
   * A knowledge block can only be deleted if it's not being used in any knowledge article, including any retired article or previous version of an article.
   {#retire-knowledge-block__ul_gqh_s12_xtb}

## Result

The retired knowledge block is no longer visible in the article.

*[\>]: and then


