---
sourceDocument: Xanadu Employee Service Management
sourceDocumentLink: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/xanadu/employee-service-management

 Release :

    - xanadu

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Xanadu Employee Service Management

ft:clusterId :

    - emplsm

bundleId :

    - emplsm

workflow :

    - Employee


---

# Assign ownership of content

# Assign ownership of content {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Xanadu
* 
* Updated August 1, 2024
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

Assign a user or group with the content manager (sn_cd.content_manager) role to a content item so only that user or group can edit and publish the content.

## Before you begin

Role required: sn_cd.content_admin

Ensure Yes is checked under Allow Ownership for Content Items under Content Publishing or Content Experiences properties. For more information, see [Properties installed with Content Experiences](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/Umr6J1Qaf_oiH~gWW19xUw "The Content Experiences [sn_ca] plugin adds properties that determine how a campaign runs related to scheduled jobs and performance.") and [Properties installed with Content Publishing](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/qFfoQfp416ZlOfnXWG6CcQ "The Content Publishing [com.sn_content_delivery] plugin adds the following properties that are designed to control how scheduled jobs work in relation to notifications, to-dos, and communities.").

## About this task

Provide a content manager or group of managers with exclusive access to sensitive content, such as a notice of an upcoming merger or reduction of workforce.

Alternatively, use a content item as a template that can be repeatedly cloned and assigned to content owners for customization.

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllContent PublishingContent LibraryView All.
2. Select a topic.
3. From the top-left menu (), select View content record.
   * To assign ownership to a user, select the Restrict content by user tab.
   * To assign ownership to a group, select the Restrict content by group tab.
   {#ecpro-ca-cd-content-restriction__choices_mf2_qy4_2bc}
4. Click New.
5. From the User or Group field, click the Lookup using list (![Lookup using list icon]()) icon and select a user or group.  
   Note:  
   Only groups that have the content admin (sn_cd.content_admin) or content manager (sn_cd.content_manager) roles appear. If the members of the group have these roles, but the group does not, the group does not appear.
6. Select Submit.  
   After a user or group is associated with content, only that user or group can access the content when scheduling content or when adding content to a campaign. Removing the user or group makes the content accessible by all content managers.

*[\>]: and then


