---
sourceDocument: Yokohama Employee Service Management
sourceDocumentLink: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/yokohama/employee-service-management

 Release :

    - yokohama

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Yokohama Employee Service Management

ft:clusterId :

    - emplsm

bundleId :

    - emplsm

workflow :

    - Employee


---

# Checkout published content

# Checkout published content {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Yokohama
* 
* Updated January 30, 2025
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

After Portal or Rich content is published, you must checkout the content to modify it.

## Before you begin

Role required: sn_cd.content_manager  
Note:  
Content versioning must be enabled in Content PublishingAdvancedProperties. For more information, see [Properties installed with Content Publishing](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/TDsWC69DwTLCClmk2YA_PQ "The Content Publishing [com.sn_content_delivery] plugin adds the following properties that are designed to control how scheduled jobs work in relation to notifications, to-dos, and communities.")

## About this task

For more information on content versioning, see [Content versioning](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/DqriU~KlhFYe_m9CYFJQ9w "Content versioning tracks changes made to Portal and Rich content types after they are published, enabling managers to view previous versions of content.").

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllContent PublishingContent LibraryView All.
2. Select the content you will edit.
3. Click Checkout.  
   A new version of the content is created and the Version field value is appended with .01.
4. Make the necessary edits.
5. Click Save or Save and continue.  
   This version is saved to the Content Library without impacting the published version of the content.
6. To preview the updated content as it would appear in the portal, based on the current publish plan:
   1. Click the Publish tab.
   2. Click the publish plan to preview.
   3. Click Preview on portal.  
      The Employee Center opens in a new tab, displaying the updated content as it would appear once published.
   {#ec-checkout-published-content__substeps_mlt_jfx_11c}
7. When you are ready to publish your updates, click Save and publish.  
   This version replaces the currently-published version. The new version maintains the same publish plans as the previous version.

   The Version field value increments by 1.0.

## What to do next

After publishing the updated content, you can create additional publish plans: [Create a publish plan for your content](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/DG0leRcxBKOwwDVd~gkcAw "After you create content in the Content Library, add one or more publish plans to control where the content is delivered, the audience, and the period of time it is available.")

*[\>]: and then


