---
sourceDocument: Zurich Employee Service Management
sourceDocumentLink: https://www.servicenow.com/docs/r/zurich/employee-service-management

 Release :

    - zurich

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Zurich Employee Service Management

ft:clusterId :

    - emplsm

bundleId :

    - emplsm

workflow :

    - Employee


---

# Close a conversation

# Close a conversation {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Zurich
* 
* Updated October 29, 2025
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

As a manager, you can mark a conversation as completed to easily reference it for future planning and growth activities. Write closing notes and share them with your employee to ensure a shared understanding.

## Before you begin

You must provide your employees with a license to enable access to the Career Conversations app. For more information about employee licensing, refer to [License Talent Development Core users](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/iQpBjtcjQb8ccn63FRa4mg "Talent Development Core uses the Employee Profile licensing feature to license user.").

Role required: manager \[sn_egd_act.manager\]

## About this task

While the Career Conversations app includes a system property that automatically closes past conversations, managers can opt to manually close conversations. This allows them to add final thoughts that weren't captured
during the conversation, and share them with employees. Once closed, the conversation becomes read-only, preserving the discussion for future reference. The manager can reopen a closed conversation for editing if needed.

Alternatively, there is the option to cancel the conversation, which is permanent and cannot be undone, whereas closing a conversation allows the manager to reopen and edit it later if needed.

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceEmployee Center.
2. Close the conversation from the growth conversation page or the Conversations landing page.  
   {#egd-close-conversation__table_emg_jm5_w2c__entry__2}

   | Page | Steps |
   |-|-|
   | Growth conversation page | 1. Use the Your team's conversation widget to select the conversation that you want to close. 2. Select the more options button and select Complete conversation. {#egd-close-conversation__ol_ykb_qm5_w2c} |
   | Conversations landing page | 1. Navigate to the conversation that you want to close. 2. Select the more options button and select Complete conversation. {#egd-close-conversation__ol_f4r_j2g_dhc} |
   [ ]

   {#egd-close-conversation__table_emg_jm5_w2c}
3. In the Closing thoughts window, enter last thoughts to share with the employee and select Complete conversation.
{#egd-close-conversation__steps_ovl_wbg_dhc}

*[\>]: and then


